Student Employee of the Year

Every year, one outstanding student is honored as ISU's Student Employee of the Year. Selection is based on reliability, quality of work, initiative, professionalism, interpersonal skills, and unique contributions to the employer.


Nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Undergraduate students employed on-campus
  • Students must have been employed part-time for a minimum of 6 months between June 1 and May 31 of the school year

The winner from Iowa State University will be entered in state and regional competition with the Midwest Association of Student Employment Administrators.

Nominate a student for the Student Employee of the Year Award HERE!

Student Employee of the Year GuidelinesNomination Guidelines

Past Winners and Students of Distinction

Winner Department Students of Distinction Department
2016-2017 Jackie Mesenbrink Program for Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE)
Allie Polk College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Ben Link BioCentury Research Farm/Center for Crops Utilization Research
Benjamin Westphal Reiman Gardens
2015-2016 Rachel Wonderlich ISU Extension and Outreach/4-H
Alexander Shaw Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering
Morgan Pittz Animal Science
Spencer Baltes Iowa State Police Department
2014-2015 Shelby Hockey Department of Computer Science
Abigail Clevenger Animal Science Department
Calli Zimmerman Sponsored Programs, Accounting
Kyungjoon (Paul) Chung International students and Scholars
2013-2014 Michael Erickson-Solberg CALS/CCUR/BCRF
Diana Loutsch The Center for Biorenewable Chemicals
Logan Jewett University Library - Digital Repository
Samantha McGiniss Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
2012-2013 Shelby Hinrichsen Recreation Services
David Bruene Animal Science
Jeff Luhr Memorial Union
2011-2012 Carly Martin Agriculture & Life Sciences Communications
Michelle Brackenmyer ISU Dining, Food Stores
Reed Johnson Agriculture & Life Sciences Communications
Ryan Goetsch Physics & Astronomy
2007-2008 Brad Gee Athletic Communications
Rachel McCulloh Agriculture Education & Studies
Victoria Birkenholtz Extension 4-H Youth Development
2000-2001 Kelli Cameron International Ag Programs
Jenny Dorink Research Institute for Studies in Education
Kristy Kennon ISU Pappajohn Center for Entrepreneurship
2010-2011 Amanda Pudlik Food Science & Human Nutrition
Jessica Bruning Political Science
Megan Wiley Chemistry
Shaine DeVoe College of Vet Med
2009-2010 Mengmeng Liu World Languages & Cultures
Dylan Jones Department of Residence
Jeff Askey Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering
Mara Schapman Office of University Marketing
2008-2009 Molly White Aerospace Engineering
Jennifer Streff Chemistry
Justine Hosch Agriculture Education & Studies
2006-2007 Kisten Menning Program for Women in Science & Engineering
Jenna Jones Journalism and Management
Melissa Nasers AgEdS/Ag Study Abroad
2005-2006 Elizabeth Farrington Animal Science—Physiology
Caleb Grote Animal Science
Robert Wolterman Ames Laboratory
Shane Bast ISU Cyclone Hockey
2004-2005 Tanya Rogers Genetics Development & Cell Biology
Cheri Fenton Engineering Distance Education
David Winfield Human Computer Interactions
2003-2004 Chris Dasch Student Counseling Services
Gregory Knoke Physics and Astronomy
Mandi Jo Lingren Entomology
Michelle Harmann Department of Residence
2002-2003 Aron Bierbaum Virtual Reality Applications Center
Bridget Bailey University Relations
Jessica Schnitzler Animal Science Department
Jillian Duggan University Book Store—Marketing
2001-2002 Erin Cumings Ag Career Services
Andrew Laughlin Recreation Services
Jeffrey Leib Materials Science & Engineering
Melissa Homrig Political Science